St. Teresa of the Infant Jesus Church is celebrating its 75th Anniversary in 2002. The parish was established by Archbishop Thomas Walsh of Newark as an adjunct of Saint Rose of Lima, Haddon Heights to serve approximately 200 families located in the borough of Runnemede, Glendora, Chews Landing and Hilltop, East Bellmawr, Almonesson, Blackwood Terrace and Lakeland. Rev. Joseph Sutliff was the founding pastor. The cornerstone for the original church was set on September 18, 1927 and a two story structure incorporating a church and a social hall was completed in 1929 and consecrated by Bishop Joseph McMahon of Trenton.
With the rapid expansion of the whole area during the 1950's, and the establishment of additional parishes, our boundaries contracted to primarily cover parts of Gloucester Township and a portion of Runnemede. A new church on the corner of Black Horse Pike and Evesham Road was completed in 1954. Our elementary school was opened in 1953 and was subsequently expanded with the addition of a new wing housing eight classrooms. The Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary were retained to staff the school and a new convent was completed for them in 1956. Today, the parish remains vibrant and dynamic in its outreach.
|Back to Parish Listings|